My baby is getting big!

Sam will be one on Friday.  It hardly seems that a year has past since she was placed in my arms.  It took so much to get her here that she is a little spoiled.  Four months before I got pregnant with Sam I miscarried, (Runs in the family come to find out, thanks for telling me).  I was determined not to give up.  When I was about 6 weeks pregnant with, I started cramping.  I called the doctor and got in with the on call doctor.  Everything was fine, in fact, Sam’s heart beat was strong for 6 weeks.  When I was 14 weeks along, I spotted and started cramping again, by now Sam was pretty active, so I wasn’t too worried.  Come to find out, she had kicked some of my placenta loose, but it wasn’t enough to worry about.  Everything went fine until 34 weeks, when she put me into labor around bedtime.  We had just gotten Emma to sleep and Eric asked me, “Are we sure we have to go to the hospital?”  Just like a man.  I told him yes.  We got there, they stopped my labor and released me 2 hours later.  Then November 21, our little Sam was ready to come.  I walked into the Hospital and they got me hooked up to the machines and monitered me for 2 hours, no pain killers.  Then they told me that even though I wasn’t dialating, I was in fact in labor (You think?!).  Next they had me WALK down to the OR and they prepared me for my C-section (Emma was breached so I opted for a planned c-section with Sam).  My doctor had checked out for her Thanksgiving, so the on call doctor delivered me.  I was quite nervous.  Luckily the assisting surgeon was the one who helped with Emma so I felt a bit better.  Then a little after 8, my little Sam was born.  Such a tiny little thing at 5 lbs 15 oz. and 18.5 inches long.  She still remains tiny, but she is following in the footsteps of her mom.  She Even kicked Daddy this morning when she was snoring.  Just like mom.  She is mommy’s little girl.  Emma is devoted to Eric, by Sammie belongs to mommy.

Speaking of spoiled.  Most of the time, she sleeps in our bed, because Eric doesn’t wake up and I am the one in charge in the middle of the night.  Emma was never in our bed.  I know I need to curb it, but I am sick of getting out of bed every 2 hours to get her back to sleep.  I have hopes for her to someday sleep through the night.

Leave a Reply

